Suggestion on how to split a very long DXF object into two pieces?

I have imported a DXF file and a few of the pieces are over 11ft long. My CNC can handle up to 8ft so I need to split that object into two pieces that can be joined later. I’m new to CAD design and Easel and haven’t found a suggested way to do that yet. (I have considered putting a cut line through the piece, but that approach would shorten it by the width of the cutting bit.)

Any suggestions how to bisect an object to create two objects? Extra credit if you have a suggestion how to add an interlocking “jigsaw” joint so the pieces will lock together later.

Thanks in advance.

Could you share the DXF file?
Thanks
Russell

The DXF file is copyrighted and has a full set of components for a standup paddle board so I shouldn’t share it here. But I did make an Easel project with the individual part so you can see the challenge I’m trying to deal with. I’ve shared that project here: Easel - SUP Spine

I’d download a Cad program. Then I’d open the DXF and split the drawing in two and move each half drawing to the left and right the radius of the bit. Put the x0y0 in the correct spot between them. Is the part symmetrical? It may be possible to do that in Easel, but I don’t use Easel, so I can’t say for sure.

Do you have any suggestion for a CAD program that has that capability that is so easy to use that I could accomplish this without spending a significant amount of time learning the tool? I did try to do exactly that in Sketchup, but wasn’t quickly successful and gave up in favor of asking here first for advice.

Could you just cut the drawing so it will keep the piece the correct size?

If you mean cut it into two halves and then CNC each half, that is exactly what I want to do, but haven’t figured out how to split the single drawing into two pieces.