That wasn't my design, X-Carve (randomized z-depth)

Have been seeing this issue on my last few attempts at making fill cuts. The bit is changing depth rather inexplicably. I checked for correct calibration in all axis, and everything seems to be in order. I had just resurfaced my spoilboard using a fill cut with no issues. At one point the bit plunged all the way through my work piece and spoilboard to continue cutting. I’m new to the machine so I don’t really know where to start troubleshooting.

Double check the grub screws on the z axis pulleys and the nut on top of the acme screw.

I had a similar issue and it turned out things had loosened up…

I’ll be sure to check that (and thanks for the suggestion!) but I’m unsure if this is a hardware issue. When I was running a previous cut, it plunged through the work and entirely through the spoilboard - that’s over an inch deeper than the specified depth. That’s a hell of a lot to excuse as machine slop. I’m suspecting this has more to do with bad g-code or control. If you look at the cut, there are portions that are deliberately cut to an improper depth.

Also, perhaps check your collet tightening? Is it possible that your Z was at the correct depth machine-wise, and an up-spiral bit worked its way down out of your collet to change the depth of cut?

For good measure, I’d also check your wiring. Not too likely to be that, I haven’t seen that causing over-depth cuts before, but it’s a good check any time you’re getting weird behaviour. Just grab your multimeter and make sure you don’t have any shorts or cross-connections in your wiring from end to end.

When the bit plunged down through the work piece, did the whole spindle move down, or just the bit?

That was my first thought too.