Tool marks left on piece

Hello,

Thanks to everyone that posts on here and especially those who help the newbie. 

I am a newbie and I am having an issue with the rough cut leaving tool marks on the piece. Idk of its because my feed and speeds are off and Easel is skipping or of its just part of CNC life. 

Rough cut : 1/8 in purple collar Upcut 3 flute spiral
Detail cut : 1/32 in white collar Upcut Fishtail spiral

Idk what other info to provide but here is a pic

Thanks
Ryan

Any play in Z can do this, wood also release tension when material is removed so its that is a different factor. Z-zero issues between tool change, tool cutter quality, wood properties…

Sorry for not being very specific, but those are the main factors in play here.

Thanks for your reply.

So Ill recheck the Z-zero. Tools are X Carve…not sure if they are great quality or not. Ive tried to be as accurate as possible with the tool change, I will get better with use.
So after all this, am I just left to sand down the imperfections?

Cheers
Ryan

Yep. Normally for a project like that I’d cut all the way through then glue the letters to a different color board for a nice effect.
Check your adjustable wheels on the z axis. A tiny bit of play is too much.

Are you using the recommending settings for the carve on the 1/8th bit? I do a lot of these and I will always do a finishing pass in between the roughing and detail carve. If your total depth of carve is .1 inches make sure you change your manual setting to the entire depth of carve and it will do one pass at the final depth. That should help reduce the milling marks. image image In the screen shots you can see the recommended setting. Click the manual settings and you can play around with the feed and plunge rate. Make sure your depth per pass is set to your total carve depth for that final pass.

1 Like

Eric thanks so much for this. Ill give this a try.