Trouble with carving - hesitation and stutter?

Hi all - I have posted this in the updates forum but it might be more appropriate here so please excuse the double post.
I am a technology teacher and we are having problems with the x-carve machine in my classroom. We have had the machine for several years and have only encountered this problem since late October.

The problem is that the machine seems to hesitate and not carve smoothly on some portions of some carves. It a repeatable problem although it only happens on some portions of some projects. It does seem to be worse with v-carve bits.

We have tried: - using a brand new bit - checking every wheel for proper tension - re-tensioning every nut and bolt on the machine - unplugging and reconnecting every wire - and everything else we can think of hardware wise. We are running the latest version of the x-controller driver.

System configuration is: 1000mm x-carve, DeWalt 611 spindle, acme thread, x-controller, latest driver.

The video below shows the problem. I have it in slow motion because at normal speed it happens very fast and it is hard to see. You can really see it start at about the 27 second mark. The bit in the video is a brand new 60 degree bit from Inventables and the wood is hard maple.
Here is a link to the project shown: Easel - Untitled

The video is below. Please let me know what you think, this is driving me up a wall.
-Dave

Your project is not shared publicly.

Sorry. This is the link it is giving me:

Does that work? If not can someone clue me in?

Doesn’t appear there is anything out of sorts with your file, you may either have something loose on your machine OR can you tell if it is a directional issue? Does it only do it when the router is traveling in the opposite or same direction as to what the router is actually spinning?

What are the common factors in projects and parts of projects in which the problem occurs?