Trying to figure out a good depth with a Vbits?

So bear with me I’m using a MPCNC that I just built a few weeks ago. I got a 1/8 45 degree and 60 degree bit. They look smaller than what inventables sells.

I’m soo lost as to what depth to run to really show the v carve. Any advice…

Use your preview to see what it will look like, your preview screen will show you how much work the v bit has to do.

1 Like

Thanks!
Im new to Easel…when you choose Vbits as your tools are they assuming you are using their vbits with a 1/4 cutting area?? I only ask because granted yes I am picking 1/8 bits but the 1/8 vbits I have look to have a much smaller head on them vs what Inventables sells.

Heres the vbit I grabbed off amazon for instance for a 60 degree…

Compared to…

Overall I really like how easy the Pro is to use coming from the cam system I started with. I do have to convert the g code to work with Marlin which is pretty simple. If I can nail down using vbits and have a nice looking product I will definitely be getting a sub for pro.

Deepest you can go would be: (with 60° bit)
.0625" (radius of end mill) * tangent(60 degrees) = 0.1"

I’d leave it there.

90° would just be 1/16"

1 Like

Thanks I’ll have to play around when I get home and remember that little formula. I noticed that the cuts I’ve done so far have been using the 1/4 size Cutter Head Setting on the vbit Drop down instead of the 1/8 Cutter head size. I’m curious to see if it makes any difference at all.

So im a bit lost…if I do .0625 * 60 im getting =3.75

Im sure im doing something wrong with the tangent…I did pretty crappy in high school with math lol.

Later, when I get to a computer, I’ll try to post the reason for the math.

In the meantime, tan(60) = √3
tan(45) = 1

For V-bit carving, using Easel Pro - the only two bit parameters you need to nail down is width (widest cross section of the V-part) and the angle of bit. Enter those two into Easel Pro.