Universal G-Code Sender not talking to X-Carve?

Hi, As a complete novice at these things, I’ve downloaded the UGCS and JSON (for Chillipepper). Neither will control the x-carve (which works fine under Easel). Chillipepper reports ‘error: Alarm lock’ if that rings any bells.
Any help much appreciated.

under chilipeppr, when you connect to your device, make sure grbl is selected in the drop down menu.

On UGS there is a button $X, on Chilipepr you may have to give $X on command line. Did you do that.

Cheers, I’ll have to reboot the pc since it’s now saying the port is in use so can’t connect!

Hi, Sure I tried that. I’ll have to reboot the pc now since it’s now saying the port is in use so can’t connect!
Let you know when this old girl warms up again - the pc, not me!

I think on Chilipeppr there’s a button right near the alarm message that you can press, or it’s a “soft reset” button or something, which essentially sends the $x command. It’s in the middle section on the right, that’s about all I can remember right now.

They only work one program at a time. Your Easel not open on your Browser I hope.

I don’t believe it was before, and it certainly isn’t now.
Nope, still no joy. On opening the connection there is a v.brief noise
from the x-carve, but after that nothing. $X tried on both UGCS and
Chilipepper, still nothing. The buffer just fills up as far as I can
see.

Yep, Grbl selected. :frowning:

Has your machine worked before, or is this the first time firing it up?

If new…check wiring…are home switches enabled? And as was mentioned above…only 1 thing can connect to the arduino/gshield at a time, so if easel and UGS and chilipepper are all on, only 1 program can connect at a time as they tie up the comm port.

Yep, I’ve done the full commisioning and cnc’d the face and name thing. Easel works abosolutely fine.