Up and running-but having issues

Newbie here, I have a few questions/issues with the system. The X-Carve tests well, no problems. I tried the step by step Easel introducton and the carve went okay. I tried a new project and here are the issues I ran into:

1. I tried to carve a word using a Script font and a 1/32 bit. The carve was into the center of my material so no issues with space. The rendering from the software before I carved showed that the bit would carve the full word, however when the project started, it only carved the letters after the first letter. What would cause that?

2. Using the Dewalt 611 router, how far into the collet should I push the bit? Typically on my normal router I would push it all of the way until it stops, however the bits I received from Inventables have a colored collar, should I remove the collar before putting it in the collet. or is the collar used to set the length the bit should be pushed in?

3. Is there a downloadable instruction manual for the X-Carve system that would show new users the basics of setting up the system? (Not assembly instructions) I am talking about basic items like correct use of the clamps, materials, bits etc.

Did it “air carve” the first letter? If so, it might be a wasteboard leveling issue, or maybe incorrect depth/Z=0 setting. If it didn’t even attempt to carve the first letter, but it showed up in the 3D preview, it could be an Easel bug. Can you share your project and a picture of the carve?

Push it all the way to the plastic ring. :slight_smile:

There are alot of topics made by the Inventables team in the Wiki section of the forum. Searching the forum, in general, is your best bet.

Not a manual per se., but @PhillipLunsford made a series of great videos. Sounds like some of them were generated by user questions. This is a good place to start.

Paw Paws Projects

I’m sure once you click on the link you can just navigate his youtube channel.