Upgrade Opinions

In the past, I was going to upgrade my Xcarve but when there was a long wait for the parts, I cancelled the order. Now I’m considering upgrading again but would like your opinions whether to do it.

First some background on how I use my Xcarve. I have made some wood signs, some wood parts, I have also made some plaques and large picture frames. I haven’t used it with any plastics or aluminum. In the future, if I carve anything other than things out of wood, it will be rare.

I already have the DeWalt 611 router, Nema 23 motors and an aftermarket dust collection system on it.
I have had some issues with X axis maker slide flex and some calibration and tightening issues but other than that, the machine has been without issue. The tightening and calibration issues have been resolved so it’s basically the X axis flex that still needs to be addressed. Issues that are user error over the past 2 years have been plentiful though. I just started playing around with Easel and have used Vcarve Desktop instead up until now.

When I bought the Xcarve in 2015, I paid $1,491 with the upgrades. If I were to buy a brand new Xcarve, I would pay $1,278 for the same machine I have now except for the upgraded maker slide and new controller with the wiring. If I were to purchase the upgrades to make my machine the same as a new model (comparing apples to apples), I would have $1,965 invested (add $409 for the upgrade kit to the original purchase price). I would gain the side board that most don’t care for and a Z-probe that my original machine didn’t come with so maybe not quite apples to apples but close.

Another option would be to just buy the solid X axis maker slide for $49 and put it on the machine.

Another option would be to do either the 30 minute or 60 minute X axis upgrade for very little cost.