Using X-Carve for Math Instruction?

Hello, I am a high school math teacher, teaching geometry, and I would be very interested in teaching a math curriculum around a CNC machine, such as X-Carve. Although I have a good amount of programming/Arduino/electronics experience, I have not had any CNC experience.

Is there a math curriculum based around CNC that people know of?

Is this a good idea? Is it achievable?

I don’t know of a specific curriculum but you could totally incorporate it into the class to engage the students. You can replace the spindle with a sharpie and it becomes a drawing machine. Our Easel software is free and delivered online so students can do projects at home as well.

It sounds like a very cool (and fun) idea that would engage the students with real life applications. You could start with learning and then carving basic shapes and then move on to more complicated topics with more complicated part designs.

1 Like

Just tried Easel, I understand it is being developed, but it does seem like it doesn’t have a way of entering in paths based on measurements. (correct me if I’m wrong here)

I DID notice that you can import SVG files though, and GeoGebra has a way of exporting SVG files.

Seems like it could be a marriage made in heaven.

1 Like

One fun math application is the “Traveling Salesman Problem”. People often use variations on it to draw line art. Google TSP Art.

There are also many math based methods of converting a gray scale image to something that can be cut or drawn.

My son used my Shapeoko to create a project for his calculus course. It involved cutting out the areas under the curve of an equation and building a 3D model of what the integral was really calculating. Everyone else in the class built models out of cardboard, his was made from MDF and looked like a modern art sculpture. His teacher made him give it to her so she could show it to future classes.

2 Likes

Wow @AllenMassey that sounds awesome.