Using X-Carve to Cut Molding Profiles into Exterior Door Panels/furniture panels in general?

I am interested in making door panels for an exterior door with decorative molding milled into the solid wood. I can’t run the stock on my router table, cut to the angles and pin them in… the great outdoors would make quick work of it to be sure.

It appears this is more than possible with the machine… but I am new to the idea of using CNC, and am curious if anyone has any results they could share.

I would love to buy the machine, it’d be worth it as an investment to be able to do this sort of work for my home and for customers. Below are some visual examples. If you have a project of yours that is similar or can offer words of encouragement or testimony I’d appreciate it! I have my reservations about computer aided woodworking, meaning only that I don’t know if I could hack it… so some success stories from similarly “low-tech” woodworkers who figured out the design side of it would be welcome too :slight_smile: Thanks!

The bottom example would be a pretty simple v-carve. The top one would be much harder to recreate.

If you get the 1000mm version, you’ll be able to do this, you may however have to section your work off into smaller parts and devise a jig, or set of stops to position the door / panel for each section. That’s really just so you can work the full length of the door / panel…

You’re biggest issue will be time. The carve in the second image wouldn’t take too long, however, the large pockets in the first image would be rather time consuming to mill out of a solid piece… You would be better off finding, or making a forming tool for a router, and running strips of would on it on one side, then cutting to fit the pattern and using finish nails, glue, screw & plugs or something to affix them to the door. Would make for faster production.