V-bit won't reach into material after being cleared away

First, I’m very new to this.

I used a 4-flute bit to clear and area away within a piece of wood. Then I swapped the bit out for a V-bit to do some lettering. No matter what I’ve tried I’m unable to get that V-bit to reach down into the “new” lower area of wood (that’s beneath the original top of the wood surface).

I’ve adjust Z settings, raised the wood up, manually (through UGS) adjust the Z height) … no luck. I’ve created projects in Easel and have been executing in UGS with BobsCNC E3.

Thank you for any help that’s out there!

What’s the total length difference of the two bits? Maybe you need a longer v bit to get it to do the work. Bits come in all sorts of lengths. You would have to change your z- depths for that bit too if they are not in the collet with the same length sticking out.

If your project is in Easel share it so someone can look at it.
I suspect that you are designing your v carving on the top surface of material but it was previously removed by your pocketing operation. Thus nothing for the V bit to touch/carve.
When you change to the V bit zero it on the surface you want it to carve on and set your safety height accordingly so you don’t carve the higher material.

Sounds like you need to set the V bit depth to start at the depth of your clearance cut.
(If I’m understanding you right)

I will check… the V-bit is definitely shorter. I did check to make sure there weren’t physical limitations by lowering the Z- down (off to the side of the material) and it goes plenty far enough down.

I did the project in two phases because I was trying to avoid changing the bit mid-project. The first one I used a 1/16 bit to do this:

Then I changed to a 30-deg X .1 V-bit to add this lettering to the project and ran this file: