Wasteboard DIY: T-Track or T-Nuts?

I need to make a Wasteboard, and I’m still a newbie. Which do you prefer threaded wholes with t-nuts or one with a t-track system?

I’m currently using T-track, but on my SO1 when I expanded it, I was doing threaded inserts and installing them as/where needed — that way I was confident that each insert was used at least once.

ATP-5 aluminum plate with tapped holes on 1" centers
It will be the last machine bed you will have to deal with.

2 Likes

here is what I use https://us.misumi-ec.com/vona2/detail/110302261820/

added two extra 20X20 braces on the lower frame so I could use corner brackets to fasten the bed to the rails. I also ordered the T slot in 1000X250 so I needed four of them (hence the need for three supports on the bottom). you can always fasten MDF to the bed if you need to cut into it (so you don’t damage the aluminum bed).

the bonus of using a solid piece of aluminum or these T-track extrusions is how much more rigid the machine becomes.

P.S. also less warping due to changes in temperature and humidity.

@JanVanderlinden Did you make that one?

Neil,
Yes I did.
I chose the ATP 5 over MIC 6 simply due to price.
If you research them, they both have the same specifications.

Wow! That’s awesome! How did you make that! :star_struck:

If you’re interested, i would gladly share the print with you.

1 Like

I know this is a “newbie” question here, but what happens when the router bit goes deeper than the wood you are carving/cutting. I know it obviously scars the MDF when it is used, but metal against metal…? Does it do any damage to your bits?

I ALWAYS put a sacrificial piece of wood under my work.
This is a picture of a job I have on the machine right now.
I hope you can see the sacrificial piece.

1 Like

Yes, I see it! Very good idea! Now, for my next question, what did you use to drill all the holes?

It was machined on a CNC machine.
Obviously not an X carve.

Do you have access to another machine, Jan?