What accuracy can be expected?

Using a 24" DRO I find that my machine varies by as much as 0.009" when I traverse in one inch increments (X or Y). It repeats well (the error is the same on multiple tests), but doesn’t achieve the accuracy I would like at all distances from home. The machine has two years of use and I just changed the belts in hopes of improving the accuracy, but that did not make any difference. If a servo is bad, you would think it would not repeat. I am stumped. Many test distances are within 0.003, which is fine. The error is random and does not build, so calibration will not solve the problem. Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

Account for backlash?

A properly tuned Xcarve is expected to provide an accuracy = 0.1-0.15mm (IIRC)

If you want that level of accuracy, may I ask what you are trying to machine? Metal?

I am a luthier and need to make parts with cylindrical projections that fit into a hole pattern. At the moment, my cylinders are out of round, as are my holes. It seems that the machine was more accurate for the first year and a half. To get things to fit, I am needing to make the cylinders 0.010 undersize, which is more that desired. I used to be able to go almost size on size and parts came together with a tight slide fit.

Yes and mine was well within this range when new. Being 0.009" out is problematic.

Did you re-tighten your belts recently? This could have an impact on precision. Belts have to be just tight enough to play a chord.