What if.... I need to change a bit in a very long project?

I designed the Aluminum part on Inventor and created the tool paths on MeshCAM. I import from meshCAM into easel. I have worked out most of the upgrade bugs in using Aluminum and things are going moderately well (using X-controller, a Super-PID speed control on my Dewalt 611, Nema 23’s all around, and a rail clamping system). I even fashioned a vacuum on my router and the aluminum I am cutting is absolutely cool. However in my 20th hour of this job I am beginning to wonder how long this cheap 1/8" bit will last. I have been pausing the job at night and that works fine, but if I pause the job and move the spindle; will it work like my 3d printer and find the last place it was working to restart? Or is it relying on me to find the last place I was working?

I have never done anything this complex before and can’t help think about the what ifs. Any ideas on bit changing?

1 Like

If the machine loses it’s position you are done, Changing the bit in the middle of a job is not something that is normally done. I really don’t see how that could work. Since you would need to rezero the Z axis and then be sure the next gcode command positioned the Z height were it left off. If the X or Y moved before the Z was set correctly damage could occur.

I don’t think I would even attempt it. Especially if I was 20 hours into a project

I’ve done it on several jobs. Use the grbl setting to keep the motors powered at all times, be careful not to move it while changing the bit, then zero the z-axis. If you do move the X or Y axis, you definitely need to have homing switches or a 3 axis touch plate.
A touch plate should help immensely, but I didn’t have one at the time I was doing this.
-Kelly

He seems to be talking about changing bits in the middle of the same job.

1 Like

As in the same g-code file.