What tape?

Good Morning!!! As I read through the chat in the forum, (I’m new to the whole CNC experience) I see several references to using tape. I have found on a couple of my projects that I have to be very creative in the use of the clamps. What kind of tape is recommended? 3M double sided? (something that I can get at my local Lowe’s or Home Depot??)

Thanks in advance!!

Blue masking tape (one layer on surface board and one layer on material to be carved) Bonded together using CA-glue, the glue on one layer, accelerator on the other = instant/rigid bond :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I have more clamps than I know what to do with and was running into a project that was difficult to clamp for one reason or another. I saw on line that blue masking tape and CA glue with a spray activator was the way to go, but found it only available on line and it was a bit pricey. Then I discovered that any masking tape will do (It doesn’t have to be the blue stuff, just the least expensive) and I use Loctite Super Glue Professional Liquid or any of the Loctite super glues. The tapes and glues can be found at Lowe’s, Home Depot, or any hardware store like ACE.

1 Like

now you have me wondering if a hot glue between the layers of tape would work. My wife has a cricut and uses a very strong craft glue. I might try that too. Thanks for the help!!

Hot glue is flexible and adds a measurable thickness that can throw your stock out of square. Use CA glue…it’s a solid method for holding anything from soft plastics to metal.
Depending on the project, double sided tape can work well. Just don’t cut through it or your endmill, and your work, will get all gooey.

2 Likes

Yes, and often leave gooey glue residue when being pulled off after.