Why would a cut go off of it's toolpath?

It didn’t follow the simulation. Stopped 25% through cut, didn’t raise the bit, and started cutting back to the front of the machine in a straight line along Y.

What would be potential causes?

1. Poor network connection?
  2. Power spike?
  3. Bit or router slipping? I checked these - both firm.
  4. Design problem? I ran the simulation and it did not follow the erroneous path
  5. Mechanical issue with CNC. Its a new Sainsmart 4030 – the bit didn’t raise, and went straight back on Y, when it should have been going forward in a curve, so all 3 axis would have had to fail, seems unlikely.

The carve did stop on two prior runs, with the spindle still going. I saw a Youtube video that said this is typically caused by a power spike. This is why I think 1 and/or 2 are likely, but I’m a newbie. I am running everything through an IOT Relay after my surge protector, I’m going to move the controller and my vacuum straight to the surge protector, and I’ve already moved a mesh wifi end point into the garage.

If the machine is just stopping and not going forward with the carve, this is normally an indication of EMI issues. There are plenty of threads discussing this, but you will want to separate the USB cable from any power cables for starters. Grounding the controller side Shield/Drain (to GND on the controller) on each of the stepper cables is also another option to consider.

With respect to the machine going off the path, I suspect the machine simply lost steps due to the feed/speed being too high with the 1/4" bit. What feeds/speeds are you using?

{:0)

Brandon Parker

#1 The network connection would not have anything to do with this issue. the gcode is stored locally on the PC prior to starting a carve, you can actually sign into easel, then turn off the network, complete the design and then send the gcode all without a network connection. (save for design library, font directory and the tools)