Will Easel work for me, or buy vcarve with kit

Hi All, I’m new here. About to order the xcarve and have been playing with Easel to see what it can do and if it’ll work or if I should buy vcarve pro for $500 with the kit discount.

I need to be able to draw lines and create very simple shapes, but it seems easel can’t do what I need. Am I missing something? Something as simple as a line should be easily drawn. I specifically need to be able to draw a rectangle with rounded corners. I need it to be accurate and user friendly. I’m not good with computers (better than average I’m sure, but not like this crowd).

I have AutoCAD through my work place and can draw what I need very accurately with that. If there’s a way to import? I’ve found easel very clunky being use to autocad, but I am willing to be patient with it as I only need to make about 10 templates and then cut those frequently. It’ll be repetitive work. Which is why buying vcarve seems wasteful if I can get by on easel.

Thanks.

2 Likes

If you can draw your shape up and get it in SVG format, you should be able to import it into Easel. I just drew up a plaque shape today with rounded corners (concave, not convex) in SketchUp, and was able to convert it to a usable shape in Easel.

Unfortunately, Easel doesn’t support drawing lines right now. The closest I’ve been able to come is a rectangle X long and .001" thick. It just doesn’t support “open” shapes, although I hope they’re working on that. The usability of Easel has increased drastically in the past few months, so it may be in the works.

If you’re looking to just cut out shapes, mostly 2.5D stuff, you will probably be fine with Easel if you can draw the shape in a different program. If you’re looking for more advanced carving skills though, like rounded edges (like X-Z or Y-Z rounding), you’ll have to go with something more advanced.

1 Like