Would The Hitachi M12VC 2-1/4-Horsepower Variable-Speed Router Be Able To Be Used With The X-Carve

I would like to know if the Hitachi M12VC 2-1/4-Horsepower Variable-Speed Router can be used on the x-carve.

I’ve got a feeling that it may be a bit heavy but I need someone with a bit more knowledge than myself to make that call.

The reason for asking is that I was planning on building the Joe 4x4 hybrid and this is the router that came with it.

All help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Do you know what the diameter of the body is if you take off the plastic handles? From the picture on Amazon it looks similar to the Dewalt 611 but they don’t give dimensions for the body.

I’ll measure it ASAP and let U know. But the weight is almost double of the Dewalt.

I know it is a variable speed router but will that have to be done manually or can it be set-up do be run by Easel. I think i’ve seen something like that on the forum but I am a newbie.

And may I say the forum updates, Ideas and the people like yourself behind the scenes are inspiring as hell.

THANK YOU ALL

Outside Diameter is +/- 80mm

Too heavy. Too large a diameter. Too powerful.

If you actually managed to engage the endmill for a full-power cut you’d bend the Makerslide.

1 Like

Hi @EbenStrydom according to the Amazon listing the weight of this is actually less than the Dewalt 611 so in terms of weight I think you would be OK. We had the Dewalt running flawlessly at Inventables.

The diameter is 80mm and the mount we made for the 611 is 68mm so it wouldn’t fit inside for me to test it for you.

Would you be making your own mount?

?? On Amazon I see 7.3 pounds for the Hitachi, and 5.5 for the Dewalt.

@JoeMeyer You are correct I was looking at the DEWALT DWP611PK 1.25 HP Max Torque Variable Speed Compact Router Combo Kit with LED’s which is listed at 8lbs.