Writing gcode

I am a former machinist and wanted to write gcode as I am comfortable doing so. Is this possible and if so how?

G-code is a computer language with many different dialects. There are entire books written to explain how to use G-code in CNC work.

To write the G-code by hand to mill all but the most simple designs would be a huge task.

Most people these days use a CAM program to generate the G-code based on a 2D or 3D model designed in a CAD program.

If it is necessary to tweak the G-code by hand then it would be valuable to know how the G-code language works.

Do you have a specific reason for wanting to write programs at the G-code level?

To answer your specific question: yes, it is possible.

*kinda of.

Since you were a machinist I assume you know what G-code is. The stock X-carve uses GRBL, and it does not have a very large g-code library. So if you want to write simple Cartesian points yes but more complicated canned cycles are out. GRBL is a very capiable system an will accept G-code but it may not be able to do some of the operations you may me thinking.

The link is for GRBL wiki which explains it a bit more.

Unfortunately, the G-codes which make for nice hand-coding are for the most part not supported by Grble due to memory constraints. Some discussion of supported codes here: Shapeoko CNC Router, Rigid, Accurate, Reliable, and Affordable

There are some programmatic pre-processors which may facilitate your working in the style you prefer: Shapeoko CNC Router, Rigid, Accurate, Reliable, and Affordable — I’ve been surprised that none of the G-code senders do this support on the fly (maybe bCNC?).

Alternately, you could change your electronics to use LinuxCNC or Mach 3 which support most of the G-code standard.