X-axis carriage wobble

Trying to properly tune the X-Carve since I need accurate cuts, I’m fairly new to this so I apologize in advance if I did/do something stupid.

A couple of my basic/simple cuts have been okay, except I’ve noticed that the X-axis carriage itself wobbles around the x-axis. I tried playing with all of the v-wheels on all axes to see if it needs a right spot but no dice.

When the router is in, it will wobble even more up and down in the z direction, moves about 1cm - 1/2in. I’m not sure what to do to try and fix this, already tried tightening/loosening the wheels/nuts. Tried searching this problem but didn’t find much.

Edit: Just wanted to add that when I tried aluminum at a slow feed, the whole bit and spindle shifts in the x and z axis when cutting in -y direction, should be using a slower speed but I think that says a little about the carriage wobble.

Thanks! Will give it a try and update on what happens.

1 Like

Just an update, everything is working perfectly fine now thanks to Phil. Just needed to loosen all top wheels and tighten them separately then I played with the bottom wheels and eccentric nuts. All works great, thanks again.

1 Like

Can you tell me how you rectified this problem. I am having a hell of a time trying to get this adjusted. Lines are wavy. Tightened belts, wheels and now the spindle carriage is loose and wobbles and can not get it to tighten.

Show us a photo of your problem.

I did notice my router plate is a bit loose on the track, as well and can’t get that thing not to wiggle. I did the z probe and just watched it wiggle as it lowered. I will attach a video of it as well.

I am a bit of a newbie still , took the spindle Mount apart and checked wheels, adjusted bolts, etc and still like video.

@ShannonSmolinski

In your video it looks like the eccentric nuts were swapped out for a nyloc and washer…