X-axis no longer homes

I have been using the X-Carve for about 2 months without issue. I use Easel and know almost nothing about g-code. I switched to a different computer to carve a small part and pulled up Easel. Whether I ask it to home under the “machine” tab, or after pressing “carve”, the machine only homes on the z- and y-axes. It never moves in the x-axis. I tried machine setup and have the same issue. I did a manual home and that worked, and was able to carve my part. I can also toggle the machine in any direction. The wiring looks intact, and I doubt it is a switch issue because the issue is that the machine never moves in the X-axis rather than ignoring the home limit. Any thoughts?

What do you mean by “manual home”? Did you issue a $H command to GRBL or did you move it to X/Y/Z zero and set position?

To me, either your X switch is broken and stuck closed or your X switch wire is shorted. It probably doesn’t move because it immediately senses the switch is closed.

Have you switched back to your other computer and tried again?

Follow the post linked by Phil to see potentially what the issue is.

If he has the X-controller he will also need this:

1 Like

This gentleman indicates he knows noting about gcode. How else could he tackle his problem within Easel?

I don’t see any reference to G-code in this thread apart from his saying that he doesn’t know it and you saying that he said he doesn’t know it.

1 Like