X-Axis suddenly stops responding

Hello Everyone,

So I am at a loss here. I have been using my XC 1000 for just over 2 years now without a single issue. I now suddenly go to use it and notice that on the second pass it no longer tracks on the X-axis and simple moves up and down on the Y. Upon inspection, the X-Axis completely stops responding, i can’t jog it at all. Shutting the machine off and back on will again have it respond. I can rehome the machine and try again.

However, the same thing occurs on the first pass.

I have spoken to inventables support and we performed some troubleshooting:
run air carve to test spindle interference - didn’t help
Reupload firmware - didn’t help
Swap z and x cables to check the connections - didn’t help
adjust voltage after the x axis fails - didn’t help

They declared my x controller to be faulty since the voltage didn’t help at all. After receiving a new one and replacing it, same issue.

I then swapped the USB Cable - didn’t help

Maybe the stepper was faulty so I…
Took the x stepper motor off and replaced it with the z stepper - didn’t help
Used Z cable on the X axis (yes swapped it both on the motor and board) - didn’t help

Maybe its the computer…
Plugged and configured it into an entirely new computer - same issue

I am at a loss here…

Did you check the wiring for the x axes maybe you have a broken wire?

Yes. All connections are checked and tightened. When it returns after I stop the cut, it homes on the Y-plane but not the X. Powering off and on the X will respond again. I can then start the cut once more, without homing the X and it will move, but then suddenly stop responding again.

Thinking it was a cable, we swapped the X and Z cables (z working perfectly). The Z axis was still working fine (with the X cable) but the X axis (with the Z cable) again stopped responding.

It was just a thought. I am sure someone smarter then me will chime in.

Here is a video of what happens

That is pretty wierd.