X axis works, Z axis kind of works, Y axis sticks and then everything freezes

Totally newbie here. Inherited a Shapeoko 2. Trying to do the initial setup. When I hook up the machine, I go to machine setup in Easel. I plug in the model, etc, and…

I can test the X-axis, I can test the Z-axis (although it seems to be spinning in the wrong direction sometimes… I’m only clicking one direction button but it spins one direction, then another). As soon as I test the Y axis, the Y motors move to the edge of the Y-axis and won’t stop unless I unplug it. It keeps trying to move continually. After that, the X and Z axes no longer function at all, and I have to start the machine setup in Easel all over.

The gshield and arduino had come apart during transport, and initially I was trying to get it working without realizing that… I only noticed when I moved the machine and the gshield lights flickered on and the motors moved a little bit… Hoping there wasn’t an issue caused by that. I took the enclosure apart and made sure everything was seated properly

When I first hooked it up to easel, it asked to do a firmware update, which I accepted but canceled when I realized I didn’t know any of the machine’s specs. I’m not sure how to undo/redo that… Machine>Advanced>upload firmware asks me for a hex file, but gives no option to upload one, not that I would know which file to use anyway.

Maybe aI need a total “reset” on the firmware for the arduino and the gshield, the control board seems to be the source of my problems… I’m assuming everything else is hooked up correctly as the machine was working previously.

Any suggestions?

Wires are all appear to be secure - just to make sure I reseated them on the gshield.

The previous user says everything worked fine, wiring appears to be correct, so I’m thinking it’s a problem with the controller.