X carve or pro?

Hello, I’m in the market for a CNC and have settled upon inventibles x carve or the pro. I’m hoping someone has insight as to which machine would be the best choice for me before I make my purchase (as well as recommendations for bits).

I’m currently using a scroll saw to make children’s toys (animal figures, puzzles etc.) Typically I am using 1" hard maple. I need a machine that can handle intricate cuts and is simple to use as I am new to the world of CNC.

I’m leaning toward the xcarve over the pro as I’m not sure I need the larger machine as long as the xcarve can easily handle what I’m working on.

Thanks for any and all input!

Disclaimer: I don’t own an x-carve or an x-carve pro. I own 2 modified openbuilds lead cnc’s (chinese knock-offs) and one homemade screw driven cnc.

If you’re set on deciding between the x-carve or x-carve pro, I’d recommend the x-carve pro. Mostly because it is ball-screw driven vs. belt driven. IMO this will give you far better cut quality especially in the harder woods. You’re less likely to lose steps w/ a screw driven machine vs a belt driven machine. You should also have improved resolution with the screw driven machine over a belt driven machine.

I’m not saying you can’t do it with the x-carve, and I’m sure there are a number of users on here who can attest to the quality that they can achieve with their standard x-carves.

We’d love to see a few pictures of what you’re planning to make. Maybe we can give some more feedback based on them.

Good luck with your choice and welcome to the community! Let us know if you need any help w/ designing with Easel.

Cheers,
Ethan

Thanks for your input Ethan! Here is a photo of the types of toys I am building. They are rather simple right now as I’m just beginning :slight_smile: