X-Carve spindle choice and other questions

Hi all,

I’m a furniture designer that sometimes need to make prototypes of some parts or even full pieces. I’m completely new to CNC and every time I decide to put a little effort into reading up on it and get a machine I get scared away by either the price point or the difficulty of even understanding what I’m reading or what I need. I need to cut fairly large pieces so up until now all the machines in my price range have been too small. However, 800x800mm I can work with!

Mostly what I’ve seen on the X-Carve in action has been carving signs and the like. My needs are a bit bigger and probably more crude. I’d like to cut plywoods and glued up boards of hard- and softwood between let’s say 5mm and 25mm. I haven’t been able to find any specific info on that but that shouldn’t be a problem right?

And that leads me to the choice of spindle. I would sometimes be cutting many many pieces of 18mm plywood in the prototyping process and want to make sure the machine can handle it. I’m guessing it would be worth getting the most powerful spindle? But which one is it?

Finally. I’m in Europe and the shipping is insane to get the thing over here. Just the waste board kit is $180. But from what understand it’s just a matter of cutting a piece of MDF to size and dropping it in yourself right?

Sorry for all the newbie questions here. But one has to start somewhere :smile:

Regards
Fred

Hi Fred,

Yes X-Carve can cut the plywood and hardwood you talked about.

The more powerful spindle is the Dewalt 611. It is 1 1/4 hp where the stock spindle is 300W. It’s more powerful but MUCH louder so get some ear protection too.

If you make your own waste board you will need the hardware to fasten it and the insertion nuts. Did you see the other post with the list?

Thanks Zach!

Found another post of yours explaining the waste board kit contents just now. Thanks.