X-Controller / DeWalt Spindle Speed Control

Hi,
Apologies if this is a common question. We have just purchased the 1000mm ‘Fully Loaded’ option and in the final throws of assembly. One thing that strikes me is that there is no obvious way to control the spindle speed of the DeWalt through the X-Controller. Have I missed something or is it generally accepted that the spindle is manually turned on and set to speed on the router before engaging the program?

Many thanks,
J

That’s what i’ve been doing, generally leave it on number 1 with the exception of aluminium, then turn it up to 3.

The stock set up is very manual. Thats the design of the router not the controller. There is a relay you can get from amazon that you can use for on/off function. Or a SuperPID for the whole ball of wax.

Thanks, thats good to know. I’m relatively new to this so I wasn’t sure.

Thanks Curtis, do you have a link for the relay/SuperPID at all? Its not something I need to buy straight away but it would be good to have it in my back pocket when I fancy upgrading it.

Search Amazon for iot relay. And superpid.com

1 Like

An iot relay is the better deal in my opinion. It’s $20 and is a simple two wire hook up. Dozens of conversations about it around here. The PID will control rpm but It’s $160. And the set up is a bit more than two wires lol.

1 Like

@JackMyers Here is the IOT Relay:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00WV7GMA2/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00WV7GMA2&linkCode=as2&tag=jersblo0a7-20&linkId=7XO5I42J4SO2Y5YI

2 Likes

Why didn’t I think of that lol

1 Like

You should look into a VFD
http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/261861602517?lpid=82&chn=ps&ul_noapp=true
This is what the pros use.
8000-24000 RPM
look around for them and you might find one cheap enough.
They are water cooled and you have to make sure it has an option for US power and not UK otherwise you would have to get a power converter.