Z-axis offset?

Hi.

I am using Easel with Arduino on a homebuilt CNC unit. So far I have had a lot of learning experiences (thats why I rolled my own) but also face a few problems. Mainly noise issues which I am in the process of dealing with.

My question is this, and I have tried to search for an answer withoutluck - can I input an offset value to the Z-axis?
Say I want a carve a total = -4mm but only do -2mm. Next carve I want to continue from -2mm to -4mm, same path to complete the job. Is this possible through Easel or is manually extend the bit height thus fooling Easel my only option?
Maybe there is a G-code command that cover this?

TIA :slight_smile:
Haldor, Norway

Hi, i’m not sur to understand all (swiss guy here xD)

but if i’m right, you want to carve, a depth of 4mm in 2 pass
so Yes you can set a depht per pass at 2mm (in cut setings)

that’s what you wanted ?

@Rapahel:
No, that is not it :slight_smile: I want a 4mm deep, with shallow 0.1 or 0.2mm increments, carve but may want to do it as two jobs. Each depth change may be as little as 0.1mm (cutting alu) so to avoid a 2mm deep “air carve” before the last 2mm is cut. By setting an offset value to the Z-axis = -2 it would start at where it left of, slicing off 0.1mm per pass…

@Robert:
Adding it to Easel would suit me, but that might not warrant its existance :wink: Easel is a no-cost, entry level interface which for me work just fine - and adding every conceavable feature out there would defeat its purpose. I get that.
At the moment I manually tweak the cut depth / depth per pass to achive this. Set cut per pass = 2.2 with a 2.4mm total depth = two passes of 0.2mm, readjust values and start again. Gets old real quick haha :wink:
I am on a Mac btw so I can not test Vectric products.

mhhh ok…

you can set your zero, and then, move to -2 set your “new” 0
but you will need to add 2mm to your safety height
like this it will not carve during aerial movement