Z-probe not properly measuring depth

I’m new to the X-carve and looking for some information.

I’ve been having issues getting the 60º bit to look like the easel 3D representation. The corners are blown out on what should be sharp corners. I’ve seen this issue posted on another thread. I posted there too and all is quiet. I was looking at the paths closely and noticed that the 3D representation goes a little deeper than the path line (blue line). The bit being used is from inventables.

Taking all this into account, I decided to measure the depth on the actual cut. It is about .3 mil (or so deeper than what was specified in easel. The setting was for .8 mil and the depth after cutting was 1.1 mil. Wood is flat and level and the depth is consistent from on end of the wood piece to the next.

Is the z-probe I’m using not milled correctly? Can I compensate the difference somewhere in the easel settings? Should I not use the z-probe?

Thanks in advance for any help!
-Ryan

I have the same problem.

In the machine setup when it asks to set up the z-probe there is an advanced area. You can set the thickness of the brass disc in the advanced portion. I would include a screenshot but I am on my Linux box right now and can’t get to that machine setup.

I measured mine with calipers and it measured the same as the thickness in advanced settings, so I just fudged the number to get the correct depth.

Is it possible there is a bug here @JeffTalbot ?

you might also want to check your calibration of the machine.

If you move your Z-Axis 10mm down did it travel 10mm or was it 9.7mm or 10.3mm etc. etc.

if you machine is out of calibration it will also cause this type of error.

1 Like

Probe incorrect (probe feed too fast or puck thickness incorrect)
Steps per MM (Z) incorrect (dial/test indicator check)
Material thickness incorrect (wrong dim / warp)
Bed surface issue (not flat / even)
Assembly issue (something loose)

Things that come to mind to check