Z-Prode Attachment and General Questions

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I don't want to assume however, with the knowledge I have for the Z Probe which is little and with common sense the attachment can't do the following: 
  1. Measure the width and length of the piece of material being used correct?
  2. I am wondering if there are video’s that do break it down barney style for the depth of material being used and what type of bit would be preferred to use or has to be used?
  3. Are there video’s or spreadsheets, word documents, etc… that can assist you in getting the different dimensions for different types of carvings you would like to make? A how to video per say?

I am fairly new to this whole CNC Machine and have an X Carve 1000 mm Machine. I have been experimenting and have been researching everything however, with something new I tend to need to see it down to the basics (AKA Barney Style). I would appreciate any and all advice in this matters and possibly any basic patterns to see on how to use a variety of bits, depths, and what seems to work best for everyone in their own way in using their own machines. Thanks in advance and Appreciate any and all information.

Dave

1 - There is no function in Easel that support “measure stock”. This is assumed to be done correctly by the operator.

2 - Go with Easel’s own recommended starting points for carving, what bit and for what material. Rather than we spend time writing about hypothetical situations and you trying to absorb that without context wont be very efficient.
Keep the Dewalt at speed setting 1 and start using the suggested feeds and speeds :slight_smile: Build from that.

Its much “better” to ask about a specific project, with specifics like material, bit and intent - so our replies can be as precise as possible :slight_smile: