2.5D, CAD/CAM question

Hello,

I am seriously considering buying the X-Carve 1000x1000. I use a Hackintosh (a Mac I built myself). I would use the X-Carve to CNC solid body electric guitars. Yes, I have seen a few similar projects showcases, but they seem to only be doing flat top guitars (see image below)

I am interested in building either cylindrical or arched top guitars. For what I understand, Easel is out of question for this task. So I was thinking using Fusion 360 for both CAD & CAM and maybe Universal-G-Code-Sender. I am new to all this CNC stuff. Would it work?

Thanks - JF

Yup, I’m pretty sure that would work. I haven’t dove into Fusion yet but that are many other X-Carvers that use it with great success!

Check out this post for some more info on both Solidworks and Fusion 360. Both are suitable for your needs. And yes, UGS or Chilipeppr can send the resulting gcode