3d CAD software?

I’m looking for a 3d software (preferably free, if paid which one would you recommend purchasing No annual subscription) that will work with my XCP and a 3d printer. I’m new to the 3d world. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thnx

Most people seem to use Fusion360 which used to be free and now I think has a time limit. I use Rhino3d, but that isn’t free at all, but I believe that it has a free trial. You get what you pay for.

Fusion 360 | 3D CAD, CAM, CAE & PCB Cloud-Based Software | Autodesk

I’m Openscaddad over on Thingiverse. I have 60 3D designs which have collectively been downloaded tens of thousands of times.

The common free software packages for doing 3D modeling include TinkerCad, Microsoft 3D Builder, Blender and Openscad. You can also use the free online sculptgl SculptGL - A WebGL sculpting app
Most of these will export .STL files if not also .DXF and other formats.

If you want to do 3D CNC work, that requires other software to take the .STL shape to CNC tool paths. For that I use Vectric V-Carve desktop. The desktop version of V-Carve is limited to 2’ X 2’ and will not create toolpaths for a rotary axis. If you want that, you will need to buy the full V-Carve. V-Carve lets you design flat CNC work like signs and shapes and lets you cut 3D shapes but won’t help you design 3D work. If you want to create 3D designs in Vectric, you need to upgrade to Vectric Aspire.

I dont mind paying for a reasonable program that’s reasonable priced. Is there one program that would stand out for ya’ll? One that is easy to to understand and use. I have been looking into corel, do ya’ll have an opinion on this CAD.

1 Like