3D carving finish pass issue

Newbie here. I am having an issue on a 3D carve with the finishing pass when if first starts. I am carving a 3D yorkie face from an STL file. The first one I did was fairly small due to the limited maximum depth of my 1/8" ball nose bit. I worked fine and came out well. I got a 1/8" tapered ball nose bit from Bits & Bits that is much longer. The longer bit allows more cut depth so I can scale up the piece. I use a 1/4" end mill for the roughing pass with rectangular relief. Roughing pass has no issues and comes out just fine. When I switch to the finishing pass, the first movement of the bit is to go across the face, bore down to the bottom depth and try to drag the bit across from right to left. I have to hit the emergency stop. When I use the preview and run the simulation, I can see this happen. as soon as it makes is across to the left side of the face (in the simulation), it starts finish carving like it normally should.

Is there something I am probably doing wrong to cause this faulty initial finishing movement? The carve worked fine the first time I did it when the piece was scaled smaller. Sorry for the long description, hopefully it makes sense. Thanks in advance for your recommendations.

Chuck

can you share the Easel Cut Settings and the Material dimensions? There are a few rules regarding these that can cause unwanted toolpaths.

But also, these toolpaths would show in the toolpath preview… so does this unwanted toolpath show like this in the preview? If so it may be the settings i was referencing. If not then it’s more likely a physical issue like loose wire for the Z axis, or a loose coupler that attaches the Z stepper motor to the Lead screw, as this is fairly common to not be properly tightened from the factory…

Seth,

It does show up when I preview the tool paths. I’ll try to recreate the original settings since I messed with them.
Settings are:
material size 3.5 x 4.25 . 1.57 deep