3D STL file sizing 1911 grips

I’m new to attempting a 3D carve, but not Xcarve/easel itself.

I downloaded a stl file for 1911 grips and imported to Easel. They look good in easel and I started setting up the machine. The cut time seemed a little long but I figured it was because of the 3D-ness of it all. Then I looked at the scale in easel. These grips should only be about 4-5" tall and maybe 1.5-2" wide and 0.3" thick. Once imported to Easel, they show to be around 10" tall and about 3.5" wide and 0.55" thick… approximately double in all aspects.

I thought maybe it was a bad file or designed for some oversized replica. So I downloaded a few other variations from multiple sites. I checked comments on the sites and they were receiving plenty of praise from people that had successfully used the files previously. I am assuming that most of these people are using other CNC machines and other software to operate the machine. I didn’t see xcarve/easel mentioned in the comments. I figured the stl file contained the dimensions and the machine/software used shouldn’t make a difference.

Once imported into easel, they all have roughly the same dimensional shift. About double in all aspects. I was going to try and lock the axis together and resize the Z to see how it affected the x/y sizing. Not sure if it would all scale how I need it to.

It feels like an import problem with easel but I wanted to ask if anyone else had run into this.

The files uploaded are the first ones I tried to setup. I may have found a file set that looks correct too.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

1911Rfree.stl (6.1 MB)
1911Lfree2.stl (5.8 MB)

Hi John,

STL files themselves do not include physical dimensions - think of them more as co-ordinates between lines/triangles that map a surface area - so it’s perfectly normal to scale to your requirements in Easel.

The file should scale just fine if you lock X,Y and Z.

3 Likes