500W Spindle Wiring Help - 3018 Pro

Hello everyone! I need some assistance with my new PSU and 500W Spindle

Here is where I currently stand. I have wired up the spindle and have full control over the speed through the potentiometer and the power is good. The issue is now is that I am not getting any feedback from the control board and can’t move the axis at all through Easel or Candle.

My PSU:

https://amzn.to/3KKjrIt

Control Board:

My main pain point is wondering what to connect the 0-10v port to. Does that go to the 24v Power Connector to the board or the Spindle PVM or something completely different? Do I need to get a new control board?

As you can tell, I am still fairly new to the CNC world and since I got this machine pretty much for free I wanted to make an upgrade to the spindle after doing a lot of Youtube and internet research but I’m at a loss at this point to making everything work again.

Hopefully, someone here can help lead me in the right direction! Thanks!

you would need to remove the potentiometer , but you can attach the 0-10v connection to the PWM connection of the 3018 controller board. then the cnc controls the speed by outputting a PWM signal.

You will also want to verify that $30 is set to 12,000 (the new spindle max RPM)

Follow Up Q’s:
What software are you using to control the cnc?
and what toolpathing software are you using for making the gcode?

Appreciate the help! I took off the potentiometer got the control board to finally power on properly and just need to test it out tonight.

I usually use Candle to control my settings but have been trying out UGS getting the best feel for what’s out there.

I have used Easel for pathing just due to ease of general use but I want to get to importing more Gcodes to Candle/UGS and run from there

1 Like

So I took off the potentiometer and wired up the 1-10v to the Spindle PVM. My only issue now is that I cant get the Z,Y,X axis to jog at all.

Here is the current wiring:
0-10V → Spindle PVM