Acrylic wasteboard

So the wasteboard that comes with the X-carve is really nice (and not cheap after shipping). I’m playing with the idea of putting a 1/8" clear acrylic layer over it so that the acrylic is the (very disposable) wasteboard. Would that cause issues with feed rates on different cutting materials? Melting and whatnot? Otherwise interfering with the cut? I’m new to CNC. Thanks!

Sounds like it would look awesome but yea I don’t know if its the best idea. Even with a small amount of cut through especially with a fine bit you could totally have problems. I was going to buy a half sheet of mdf, cut it to just past the last set of hold down screws all the way around and before I install the waste board drill all the holes out. This way I can still use all the original hold down points I just need some longer bolts. I was going to sink the bolts I was going to use to hold the top sheet to the waste board so that they are like 1/2 down past the top surface then run a really shallow surfacing pass to the entire sheet so its perfectly level to the machine. From there I am working up a tool path that will cut the pattern of the silk screen right into the top sheet of mdf with like a 16th inch bit. It will be engraved with all the lines so if I wanted I could throw some pieces of wood that are a 16th inch thick into the groves and use it as a square for the edge of my project.

Nice idea on cutting the silk screen art. If you make the cuts ~1/32", you can use old credit/gift cards instead of wood. :wink:

Here is an svg actual dimensions of the board are 32.4803 X 32.4803. I see this as being a slight problem. Once I get my Machine assembled Ill remake this to fit with in the working area of the machine :smile: