Amazon Echo / Web Controlled Outlets

WARNING: I am not an electrician, and working with high current is dangerous, so please don’t attempt a project of this type unless you know what you are doing - and obviously you do so at your own risk. This is just meant to document what I did, and hopefully get some feedback and improvement ideas from the community - so please feel free to tell me if I did something dangerous or stupid :slight_smile:

Steps:
Software

1. Install Raspbian Raspberry Pi OS – Raspberry Pi
  2. Hook up pi to a monitor, keyboard and mouse and connect to your wifi: Raspberry Pi Documentation - Configuration
  3. Enable SSH: Raspberry Pi Documentation - Remote access and disconnect pi from everything but power, complete the remaining steps over SSH.
  4. Install the LAMP stack (https://www.raspberrypi.org/learning/lamp-web-server-with-wordpress/)
  5. Copy PHP code and scripts from below, making sure the PHP code points to the relevant scripts.
  6. Add the apache user to the sudoers list with no password needed to run python (will add instructions later)
  7. Put .py scripts in ~/home/pi/Python/ as needed. Perform a $chmod 777 <script_name> on each script.
  8. Put PHP code in your www root folder, for me this was /var/www/htdocs/, you will probably need to do a “$ sudo nano api.php” and paste contents into that file.
  9. Follow instructions on GitHub - jessiewbailey/fauxmo: Emulated Belkin WeMo devices that work with the Amazon Echo to get the wemo emulator running and communicating with your Echo.
  10. If you want create a webpage in the same www root folder with the links that look like “http://192.168.1.x/api.php?action=outlet1on” this will enable you to control your outlet from a webpage in addition to the Echo.

Hardware

1. Carve out outlet tops and bottoms. In my case I used #10 machine screws and nuts to hold it together drilled to final size (the holes in the model are small enough that you could thread them with a tap if you wanted).