Are there any recommendations regarding 3D Touch Probes with X Carve

I’m using Fusion 360 and want to copy guitar necks with my X Carve (among other things). Ala this: http://www.rockler.com/cnc-shark-touch-probe?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=&utm_content=pla&utm_campaign=PL&sid=V9146&gclid=CJq__Y-BwMUCFdSTfgoduFkAuw

I see cheaper and much more expensive versions…not sure if it has to be compatible with Fusion 360 or X Carve machine itself, or both…?

1 Like

The $300 price tag seems a little high. I’m wondering if most of that covers software costs? Mechanically it looks like just a switch that closes when it contacts a surface. I’m sure it’s a nice high-precision switch, but that price sounds kinda silly when you think of what $300 can buy these days.

I can’t think of any reason that would not work on the X-Carve, as long as you are using software that supports it.

That said, I have no experience with touch probes, and am super curious to see what others have to say!

I wish their site showed some examples of what that probe can do. The user reviews also seem pretty mixed.

I wonder if that is strictly Z-sensing, or, if it is also set up for XY. I can see that adding a lot of complexity.

If you’re still feeling DIY-ish after assembling your X-Carve, you can check out this guy’s digitizing probe

I haven’t yet received my X-Carve but a touch probe is definitely something I am interested in. And I agree that $300. is pretty steep - I see this one as being geared towards the “turn-key solution” crowd that has purchased a CNC Shark or something similar for $3000+, which includes the pre-assembled machine and software.

All that being said, this probe looks interesting as well: Probe-It! Mach3 Wizard – CraftyCNC . The probe itself is $130, and he sells a Mach3 add-on for $30. There seem to be other probes floating around on eBay, etc., for even less.