Assembly Experiences

Well, I have completed my 1000x1000 X-carve unit have have to say I am pretty happy with it. As an engineer, I have seen my share of awful manuals, but the online instructions provided, with the photos, was excellent. I found that all of the difficulties I had were pretty much self imposed by not reading an instruction thoroughly or not thinking something through. I was only missing one part and the Support people had it to me the next day. A couple areas for improvement:

• It would have useful, when fixing the drag chain in place, a direction of “fix the bracket X mm from the right rail”. The drag chain is somewhat difficult to move when the wires get in place.

• A photo of about how much slack we should have in the wires at the end of the drag chain would be good. I had too much slack in my wires in the Z axis part, such that I did not have enough slack when I got to attach them to the X-Controller. This necessitated opening everything up and gently taking the slack out. While the instructions say the drag chain openings are pretty tough, they don’t like being opened up 4-5 times.

• Like many have indicated, the YouTube videos from Paw Paw’s workshop are excellent to review prior to your first project.

• I ordered the dust shoe with my system. Rather than hook it into my shop vac, I hooked it into my 4" dust collector, using a 4 inch to 2.5 inch reducer. Excellent at capturing the chips and quieter as well.

1 Like

I thought the instructions were excellent as well. The only improvement I could see was having photos with better contrast between black parts in a couple of places. In a couple photos it was hard to make out what what actually going on. Maybe they changed them since last year…I don’t really know.