Attempting to cut aluminum - breaking bits

Good Morning,

Can anyone give me some advice on cutting aluminum? I redesigned the bottle opener project out there but I am using the same 1/8" thick, 6061 aluminum and the exact bit that was recommend. Even with liberal amounts of cutting fluid, the bit broke within two seconds. I believe its trying to plunge in too deep before starting the cut process, as the Y axis started to struggle and skip after maybe an inch or two. The noise was also pretty much unbearable without hearing protection. ( I expected some noise, but not like this)

Are there some manual settings that someone could recommend that would make this easier? Any Milling bit recommendations would also help a great deal, as I am new to all of this.

I’ve got the larger stepper motors and the 300watt / 24 V DC spindle.

Thanks,

I personally havent cut much aluminum and my few attempts were utter failures, but I do know that in order for anyone to really help you out, it would be good for your to share your feed rates and bit size/type.

I have done a good deal of aluminum milling on both the Shapeoko with a 400w 48V spindle and on the X Carve with a .8kw VFD water cooled spindle. I mill complex parts for 3d printers and other things in 1/8 to 1/4" 6061 and aluminum tool plate.

What is the DOC you tried and the feedrate you used? With the stock spindle and a stock X carve, you have to mill a bit slower then the feed and speed charts say to. Getting good results off the X carve is not hard to do in aluminum but does take attention to how it is done and some mods needed on the X carve help greatly.

If you can give me more info i can try to help you out a bit. What are you using for CAM? Are you on the stock X Carve with the stock controller card? Have you tried using Chilipeppr yet?

OK looking forward to your answers.

1 Like

@Travelphotog