Automobile sign start to finish - mdf material

This is my first project after lots of small practice cuts ie: making dwp611 air diverter. ( I made 6. . lol) It is made out of regular 1/2" mdf from Lowes. The first test failed and I finally found my pulleys were slipping on my stepper motors. Got those tightened down and she worked like a charm.

Finishing of the sign was the hardest part for me so I thought I would detail out the steps I used and see if anyone offers any critiques.

Software Used:
Aspire
Chilipeppr
Adobe illustrator to create svg from bitmap found online

Bits:
1/8" straight bit for roughing
1/4" 90* V-Bit for finishing

Here is the first roughing cut with the pulleys slipping:

Final cut success!

Sealed and Primed the mdf with BIN Shellac based primer in a spray can sanding quickly between the 3 coats. The cut areas of the mdf raised grain pretty bad and I used a rag and my finger tip to “polish” it back down. … what a PITA.

I then used some leftover Chrome Spray Paint and coated the whole sign. 3 coats

After dry I rolled on some satin black paint from the paint counter at Lowes. I bought a small sample for about $3 and I used a small foam roller. The black dipped down onto the edges of some of the larger openings but I am 100% happy with the final product! Once completely cured in a day or so I will cover it in lacquer clear.

3 Likes

looks good. ive been experimenting with finishing techniques without much luck. i wonder how you would do that last step without the black dripping into the carved parts? a really dense foam brush and many very light dry coats would be my guess but i dont know

My thoughts exactly and that is what I did. It worked great - but the large spans of recessed areas allowed the brush to compress slightly and just barely dip in. Honestly, I am just finicky about finishing and it really does look pretty good.