Bit recommendations please

So I’m making a lot of small signs and plaques etc on my XCARVE. I use Easel for everything and don’t have any issues there.
I’m using mostly 1/4 downcut for the roughing and 1/8 downcut for the detail pass. Also using a few V bits from time to time.
I would like to know what y’all use BRAND types, even links.
I’m trying to find out ALSO, how to eliminate a lot of my sanding/finish work I’m having to do by hand. It might just be the way it has to be though.
Should I slow down my carving speed? Use smaller bits and just accept that a carve is going to take 4 hours?

I am also interested in seeing the replies to this post. I am still new to this whole cnc thing, and I have two very different machines. I find that some bits work well in one machine and not the other, and I know that I have a lot more work (experimenting) to do in order to give valuable advise.

For my personal experience, I have mostly been using a straight 1/8 two-flute endmill, and a 1/4 60 degree v-bit. I have broken a couple of Freud 1/8 straight bits, but the Freud v-bit has been solid. I have a Bosch 1/8 straight that I have used a lot, and I would buy another. I have some custom made compression bits that are okay, but not as awesome as I was led to believe they would be. I also have some 1/16 and 1/32 SPE straight bits that have been great so far, but I haven’t used them much yet. I have been recommended Onsrud bits, but they are pretty pricey. An old experienced pro told me that they are worth the price, but I haven’t jumped in yet.

For the little table machine, I bought a set of 20/30/45/60/90 degree engraving bits from FoxAlien (through Amazon, had 'em the next day), and they are decent. Great for smaller details, but the time to output a project does get longer.