Boards with Bevels - New to X-Carve

OK, so I am brand new to CNC milling but I have a lot of experience with 3D printing. I gather so far that I cannot import 3D svg files into Easel? I tried an experiment. I drew a 6" x 6" x 1/2" board in SketchUp. The board has a 45 degree bevel on all edges. I exported this file as an svg and imported it into Easel.

Upon completion of the import in Easel, I realized that Easel had converted my 3D faces into 2D entities. If this is the case, how would you mill a bevel on a given thickness board. I am sure there is an answer, but as I stated I am new to the X-Carve.

I assumed I could use a ball end bit and the machine would just keep making passes until the bevel was complete. Maybe this is asking too much? :smile:

The easy answer would be to use a v-bit with the bevel you need. Run a straight bit to clear material and then second pass to cut bevel.

Is there a way to send 3D Gcode to the machine like I can with my 3D printer? Lets say the bevel is 3/4" long. If I cannot import the proper svg file, how does the machine know to make the number of passes required to make a 3/4" long bevel? Don’t these machines just take 1/8" bits? That would be 6 passes.

And I suppose that Easel is just a 2D software?

Not with Easel at this point. A commonly-mentioned app for this is MeshCAM (~$250) which can bring in STL files. You would then need to use UGCS, or, Chilipeppr (free) to send the G-code to your x-carve. If you already have G-code, only the last step is necessary.

I assume I could use the software for my 3D printer then import the G-code into Chilipeppr. It will be fun trying :slight_smile: Thanks guys!

We were just talking about chamfered edges here:

This might answer part of your question.

1 Like