Boiled Linseed Oil what everyone uses?

I’m new to woodworking, and in my searching it seems if you want a nice finish without dealing with stain and sealers, that boiled linseed oil is the go-to.

Is this the stuff to get? or any other good/simple options?

I’m working on some pieces to be used indoors and like to just bring out the richness of the wood without having to do shellac and stains.

Also about to do some outdoor signs and would maybe shellac over the linseed oil (unless that doesn’t work)

I’ve been using lacquer, myself. Deft brand, in the rattlecan. Often with a coat of Minwax Natural stain under it to bring out the wood a bit more, but often just over bare wood. It makes a very nice finish, sands glassy smooth, and drys to recoat in about ten minutes. It’s not nearly so twitchy about application times as polyurethane either!

Boiled linseed oil never seems to fully cure — in the past I’d then apply wax, but then that needs to be maintained.

Agree w/ DanBrown that rattlecan Deft lacquer is a good option, if one can spray — it’s a "hot’’ finish, so can be reapplied and repaired.

A low tech option is applying wax — using a “polissoir” is now in vogue — I’ve done that sort of thing, sometimes applying a food safe oil beforehand.

Great to hear and didn’t know that about Linseed and Waxing. That doesn’t sound fun.

Will check out the lacquer stuff. Unfortunately my Lowes/Home Depots (in GA) don’t stock the Deft lacquer

Dang, that’s a bummer. Our local Lowes does not, but Home Depot does. Failing that, you can always use a spray polyurethane. It just has a narrow application window and you have to pay close attention to the recoat times. Dries slowly as well, but produces a tremendously durable finish. Unfortunately, that finish is not a repairable one like lacquer is. I use poly on signs for outdoor use fairly often, in a large number of coats for maximum UV protection. Just plan several days for finishing, due to the protracted drying time.

1 Like