Build me a quality "starter" end mill set

I am new to CNC, routers (at least the non-internet related ones), and endmills. After dropping the 1/32" bit and smashing it, and then leveling issues trashing the one bit I really liked…I need to figure out what I need to have a reasonably stocked set of end mills to get my “shop” ready to carve just about anything.

Right now, my main focus is cutting Catan boards, mostly out of 1/8" Baltic Birch ply. Though I’d like to also use non-ply good wood to create some stuff as well. Maybe even acrylic, but that’s a “future” need.

Right now I have 3 bits from the basic starter set:
1/16th fishtail
1/8th spiral upcut (I think)
1/8th ball

I broke the straight flute one and the 1/32.

I just ordered (without asking for help, stupid) the following from drillman1 on ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/151544597090

Honestly, the last 2 I ordered because they were under $5 and wanted to try and “fill up” a flat rate box with a few extra goodies. I could/should have got more to fit in the box, but I didn’t know what I was doing.

So, I’d like to get enough end mils to really ensure I have at least one decent mill for just about anything, with backups of some of the more important ones (why I bought a 5 pack of what I think would be something I’ll use a bit).

So, with say $100 to spend on ebay (preferrably with a single shop like drillman1 to combine shipping costs) - how would I get absolutely set up with enough end mill options to make my head spin and be ready for carving the most popular types of items.

I don’t have a 3d type program yet, so carving wildly awesome curved pieces isn’t a necessity at this time…but welcome if there’s money to spend.

Can you guys come up with a “package” that all good noobs would need to really get going?

1 Like

Small comment: straight flute gives almost no tearout on plywood. I think upcut bits gives a lot uglier edges