Can I use a Raspberry Pi "standalone" to control my x-carve?

I’m brand new to X-Carve. As a matter of fact I just completed building it about 3 hours ago. I walked through the Easel demo program allowing my X-carve (500mm) to just run through the paces without any bit (or wood) installed. Looks like things are good.
Now, like several others I’ve seen in the forum, I don’t want to put a PC in my shop (too much dust). But slightly more than that, I’d like to optionally not even have my PC turned on when I’m running my X-Carve. My initial plan is to use X-carve to build several (about 100) duplicate cutouts for a friend’s wedding favor. As a result, I’d like to just create my design on Easel (or something similar); then transfer the result to a raspberry pi and then allow it to drive my X-Carve without the PC at all.
Has anyone done that? If not, does anyone know of a reason why it could not be done?
I’m a C-programmer so I’d be glad to help getting this to work if it doesn’t already.
Thanks in advance for any thoughts or suggestions.

4 Likes

As you’ll just be using the Pi to send gcode to grbl on the arduino, it should be easy enough to do.
Options that spring to mind would be grbl Controller or even UGCS
Do a search here and I’m sure you’ll find a few people doing this.

I’m going with that setup. From what I’ve seen online, UGS is the way to go to send Gcode. Pretty sure that Easel has an export Gcode option. I’ll know more hopefully next weekend or whenever you post an update with your success story :slight_smile:

You could do it sans-Easel (design it in Easel and then export the g-code and run UGS on the Pi), but honestly the easier (and possible cheaper) way would be to just get a cheap (often $75) Windows 10 tablet.

1 Like

I haven’t done it, but this project is todo what you’re asking for:

2 Likes

Just throwing in my .02, but I tried that route with Windows 10 tablet. Worked great the first day.
The second day, after starting up the tablet and X carve,