Can the Carvey/X-Carve effectively mill these portraits?

Hello,

I’m wondering if the Carvey would be capable, and practical, to do these portraits at a high detail with a good surface finish. I’ve had these CNC’d before and the results were great, so I’m hoping that the Carvey will be able to provide similar results. I realize the Carvey’s not out yet but I figure if it’d work on the X-Carve it should work on the Carvey. I’ve taken a look at the Nomad 833, which has very similar specs to the Carvey, and it’s done a great job with things like this so I’m optimistic. I’ve contacted customer support about this as well but I’d like advice from the community. I’m looking to mill these out of wax, HDU foam, and renshape.

My main concerns are getting appropriate detail/surface finish and the milling time needed to get to that quality. I’m also interested in necessary bits needed for this type of job given the materials I’m using.(I’m new to CNC)

Here’s a link to an .STL of one of my portraits as well as some pictures and a link to my (WIP) site. The model is both front and back (needs to be hollow) so I’d need to use something like the pin method for milling both sides. The back side would just need to be roughed in.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bwqwxh69jIo1aVp0VVc4TU1jYjQ

Thanks,
Josef
https://josefriggins.carbonmade.com/

1 Like

Josef

I am seeing a lot of under cuts in both the examples you have here and the examples I see on the link to your site.
The X-Carve will not deal with under cuts. In the specs for the X-Carve the accuracy is listed as being .075mm = .0029" to .13mm = .005" for a stock machine. This would make it hard to get the finish you may be looking for.

Carvey has accuracy specs of .001" to .003" so you could possibly get the finish you are looking for. Again the under cuts would be a problem. Z height is 2.75" so using a 4th axis would be a problem.