Carving Delrin or Acetal Plastic

Does anyone have recommendations for carving Delrin or Acetal Plastic (not on the standard material list)? I’m a newbie and this is the first material I’m carving on the X-Carve - but getting terrible results. I’ve slowed the feed down to 10 IPM, .005" DOC using a 2 flute spiral upcut bit (1/8" dia). Just trying to carve out shallow (.020" - .040" deep) simple shapes into a flat surface to make a tool with multiple cavities. Need clean, uniform cavities with very consistent depth of cut. Recommendations please ??

I have cut quite a bit of it, one of my favorite materials. I have been mostly cutting with a 1/16 fishtail upcut about 45ips and .03125 depth per pass. Be sure you have good ventilation and have fun!

Thanks David. I’ve tried a few different bits, including an 1/8" Fishtail spiral upcut. I started with the ABS matl selection (40 ips, .05" DOC) but got very rough cuts as well as lots of curls of matl on the bit and around the holes. It took a lot of cleaning to get rid of the mess and was still very rough. I slowed down the feed to 10 ips, and .010" DOC and got slightly better results, but still very rough and messy.

Acetal cuts like butter, unless its a poor bit, poor feedrate/rpm combination.

Using a 1/8" 2F tool I´d try 60IPM at Dewalt minimum RPM (16k)
As Easel allow you to play with feed override during carving I´d simply try 60 and increase/decrease feed and see if a sweetspot could be dialed in. As you are carving shallow you have a larger envelope to explore in terms of feed rate vs machine rigidity.

1 Like

Speed up. If your passes are that shallow, go much faster. You’re rubbing the material away and melting plastic. Even at 60 inch/min, you’re pretty conservative for the material.