Cnc virgin

Hi guys basically I am a complete novice when it comes to cnc, I have a wood working background to some extent certainly not a master carpenter and my wife runs a small crafting business and we both really feel as though her business would benefit from the x carve. We have a very small working space, as we are based in the uk and work from home, anyway back to the reason why I’m here I probably have 101 questions to ask but I don’t want to bore you so I will throw a few out there… Any comments welcome

• Would we be better off with the 500mm or 1000mm we will mostly be carving personalized gifts and signs etc

• What’s the maximum size of work both machines can cut into may sound daft as one is the 500 and one the 1000 but does that but does that mean you cant work on a piece over 500 for the 500

-How long for the machine to carve say the word x carve into a piece of lumber

-would the easel software be enough to do what I want to do eg literally carving names and how much can you expect to spend realistically on aftermarket parts and software

-How long can you run the machine before it needs a cooling off period

-Any advice/comments welcome???

many thanks guys

500mm rails:
    X-axis: 300mm
    Y-axis: 300mm
    Z-axis: 65mm

1000mm rails:
    X-axis: 800mm
    Y-axis: 800mm
    Z-axis: 65mm

Those are the work area specs for each machine. Keep in mind you can have a board extend beyond the front and behind the machine. So if you have the 1000 and you had a 1200 mm board but only needed to carve the center 500 inches you could have 100 inches sticking out the front and 100 out the back.

1000 vs 500: depends how big your signs are. If they’re bigger than 300 mm then go with the 1000.