Could use some help with rough cut settings

I’m using PhotoVcarve to create a landscape based on a grayscale heightmap, so the depth of wood I need to remove in some areas for a rough cut is 1"+. I’ve been having problems with the settings for the rough cut, and could use a little expert advice; so far I’ve broken one bit and nearly shaken my machine loose. It probably goes without saying that I’m new to CNC routing.

The 1/8" bit broke; I thought I was going too fast, so I slowed the IPM and plunge depth settings, to about 20 inches per minute. The spindle speed was 12,000 RPM, the depth of cut was set to 0.07", and finally it used a 50% stepover. Still had a tough time biting into the wood without bending the bit, so I tried a 1/4" bit and the machine nearly shook itself apart before I aborted the run. I’ve tried both flat bottom bits as well as ball nose. The wood is medium hardness.

With those settings, most of the cut seems to work without undue stress, but when the bit reaches the end of the bottom edge or right edge of the row it’s cutting (at 45 degrees), it seems to bounce and chatter against the uncut material on the bottom and right sides, vibrating the entire machine and creating a lot of stress. I have a short video to demonstrate the jitter. FWIW, I was able to do a final pass with 1/16" ball nose on a partially-roughed out piece, and it came out awesome, so it’s just the rough cut that I need help with.

Are there any settings that I can/should alter in the software to produce a toolpath that will rough cut without stressing the machine? I appreciate any suggestions or help.

rough_cut_jitters.mp4 (6.1 MB)

That bit looks really long. The stock 24v 300w spindle has can have alot of flex in the shaft especially with long bits. When you start cutting with that much stick out the bit will start vibrating, it’s crazy you can actually see it in your video!