Cut gets shallower the farther down the X-axis

Im new to this and Im sure this is a simple fix (or I hope) but I when I carve a line of text, it cuts deeper on the left side than it does on the right (looking at machine). I have tried re-squaring up the machine (corner to corner), the z-axis and checking the z steps and still nothing. The x-axis is 4" on both the right and left side of the board and the y-axis height is based on the same spacer block in all 4 corners. Either I’m missing something or my idea of squaring it up is way off. What am I doing wrong? Thanks.

1 Like

How different is the depth?
Is your stock flat?

I leveled the table, the machine and made sure the stock was flat. On the attached image, the “u” in United is .049 deep, and the “s” at the end of States is .031. It’s not entirely noticeable but on another piece of the project the text barely cuts on the right end and the left is .025.

Level doesn’t equal parallel to the X-axis. Double check that. If it’s not that, it might be something loose (bit in collet, Z axis pulley). The stars on the right look better, how and where are you zeroing?

1 Like

you should look into tramming your wasteboard.
Neil is right it’s probably not level relative to your X & Y axes.

I checked the height of the X axis off the waste board on both the right and left sides and it was the same 4", is that the correct way or am I doing that wrong. I zero in the lower left and using the z-probe.

Don’t measure to the X-rail. Put a bit in the router and measure between the tip and the bed at various points around the machine. It may give a better indication of what is shifting. If you can, get a micrometer to measure the distance, rather than holding a ruler. You appear to be out about 1/64”. On some rullers, that is less than the thickness of a line. It can be very hard to detect by eye. I use a 10x magnifying loop when I am using a ruler, such as calibrating the lateral steps.